Monday, 18 March 2019

Aberdeen International

Curl Aberdeen hosted the fourth Aberdeen International Curling Championship which started on the 14th March. We had 18 high quality teams, including teams that will represent their countries at the upcoming World Men's Championship, teams that had won Grand Slams in Canada, Gold medals in recent European Youth Olympics & Winter Uni Games. The organising committee would like to thank the Chief Umpire and the Transport Manager for their time and effort over the event.

Happenings of the event can be found here.    
Photos from the event can be found here.

The winners of the AICC were Team Peter De Cruz from Switzerland, pictured below.

Monday, 19 March 2018

2018 Aberdeen International Champions

2018 Champs Team Mouat!

Mouat played Schwaller in the 2018 final. The result was 7-4 with Mouat running Schwaller out of stones in the last end. Congratulations to Team Mouat on your win here in Aberdeen.

We would also like to take this opportunity to wish all the teams that played over the weekend here, that are going to the worlds in Vegas, Good Luck!

Team Mouat AICC Champions 2018: Hammy McMillan Jr, Bobby Lammie, Grant Hardie & Bruce Mouat

Curl Aberdeen Chairman George Rogerson presenting the trophy to Team Mouat 

Semi Finals

Friday Night saw the Quarter Finals take place with Baumann v Brewster on Sheet B, Smith v Walstad on C, Schwaller v Bryce on D and Mouat v Stirling Gin (Drummond) on E.
Baumann, Smith and Schwaller all won their games by scoring a 1 in the final end after being peeled going down the last, Mouat also scored a 1 in the final end but had a two shot cushion running out 7-4 winners.

Semi Finals took place at 9am on the Sunday Morning with a repeat of the World Men's Playoff for Scotland in Smith v Mouat, it was a high scoring game with 2's and 3's being taken by both teams. Mouat ran Smith out of stones in the 8th end winning the game 9-6.

The other Semi Final was between Baumann and Schwaller, and despite Team Baumann playing a great shot in the 4th to pull back the score to just being one down, Schwaller came out victorious with a score of 4 in the 5th end.

The final was set Mouat v Schwaller

Team Baumann discussing the shot in the 4th end, which scored them their 2.

Friday, 16 March 2018

Aberdeen International 2018 under way

That's the Aberdeen International underway with Smith v Drummond (Team Stirling Gin) and Zou (China) v Timofeev (Russia) kicking it off last night. Timofeev beat Zou and Smith stole in the extra to beat Drummond.

This morning sees Brewster v Walstad, Mouat v Pfister, Baumann v Van Dorp, Retornaz v Wunderer & Bryce v Muirhead.

Monday, 23 October 2017

Entries Now OPEN!

We are pleased to announce the date for the Curling Champions Tour event in Aberdeen. The Aberdeen International Curling Championship will be hosted by Curl Aberdeen from 15th to 18th March 2018.

The entry fee for the event is £700 including CCT team fee per team. Included in the entry fee is shuttle bus transport from Aberdeen Airport to Curl Aberdeen and during the event from the host hotel to Curl Aberdeen. Meals and soft beverages in the players’ lounge during the event are also included in the entry fee.

Curl Aberdeen is a purpose built, state of the art curling facility situated to the west of Aberdeen. Opened in 2005 Curl Aberdeen has held many competitions and events including the European Curling Championships in 2009. The six lane curling rink, which also has top of the range conference facilities, is the only dedicated curling facility in the North East of Scotland. It is a members club with over 700 members aged 8-90 playing seven days a week.

Thursday, 8 June 2017

Aberdeen International Curling Championship 2018

After last seasons successful tournament the Aberdeen International Curling Championship is back again this season, being played between 15th - 18th March 2018,so save that date!  The format being a Triple Knockout. Entry forms will be available soon.


2017 Aberdeen International Champions are Team Hardie! Well done to the Scottish rink who defeated the Chinese national team in the final.

Team Hardie: Duncan Menzies, David Reid, Grant Hardie & Blair Fraser